CBT Nuggets http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog Sat, 17 Mar 2018 11:00:58 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.3 144255500 This Week: Why IT Matters http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/this-week-why-it-matters/ Sat, 17 Mar 2018 11:00:58 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10112

It’s 2018. It’s impossible to say that IT doesn’t matter. It’s also hard to say it’s not boring — and that’s a good thing. This week, we’re looking at where IT matters to individuals, companies, the bottom line — and even a few places where IT doesn’t matter (that much).

CBT Nuggets 10112
How to Effectively Roll Out a New Technology http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/how-to-effectively-roll-out-a-new-technology/ Fri, 16 Mar 2018 11:00:31 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10111

It seems like the more expensive the solution, the more people complain about it. You probably have entire ecosystems of tools that people begrudgingly use — or maybe don’t use at all. The adoption of new (or even existing) technologies in your office isn’t an IT problem. It’s a management opportunity. Here are a few things technology still can’t solve as well as a little good old-fashioned communication.

CBT Nuggets 10111
How to Define IT Project Success http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/how-to-define-it-project-success/ Thu, 15 Mar 2018 11:00:02 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10110

When you’re pitching a project, it’s easy to get caught in the classic mistake of overpromising. After all, you want your project to get funded. But overpromising will inevitably lead to a big letdown, so it’s important to define project success in a way that’s fair to the technology, the company, and you. Here are a few ways to reach that balance.

CBT Nuggets 10110
5 Challenges Facing IT Pros in 2018 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/5-challenges-facing-it-pros-in-2018/ Wed, 14 Mar 2018 11:00:41 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10109

There has never been a better time to be in tech. It has also never been easier to break into the field. Every company needs IT support in one way or another and there are simply not enough certified professionals to go around. With all the good news in economies around the world, what challenges can you possibly face in the coming year?

CBT Nuggets 10109
How to Make Every Dollar of IT Investment Go Further http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/how-to-make-every-dollar-of-it-investment-go-further/ Tue, 13 Mar 2018 11:00:11 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10108

There are two ways to make your IT budget go further — switching to a better solution, or making your processes more efficient. Ideally, you’ll do both. Most IT departments grow organically in a piecemeal fashion. At a certain point, it’ll make sense to rethink your system, audit its components, and develop a long-term procurement strategy that values efficiency over cost.

CBT Nuggets 10108
How to Make your IT Job Boring http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/how-to-make-your-it-job-boring/ Mon, 12 Mar 2018 11:00:30 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10107

Your IT job can be boring because it doesn’t challenge you or you’ve already put in a lot of effort and infrastructure to make it uneventful. There’s a big difference between the two. Here’s how to make your day a little less exciting — in the best way possible.

CBT Nuggets 10107
This Week: Tackling the Budgeting Problem http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/this-week-tackling-the-budgeting-problem/ Sat, 10 Mar 2018 12:00:19 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10094

This week on the CBT Nuggets blog, we tackled the biggest budgeting issues your team could be facing, from keeping everyone happy with your budget, to spurring innovation within a budget, to budgeting for a level of success you aren’t necessarily anticipating. Read this week’s content to get up to speed on how putting numbers behind ideas makes them work.

CBT Nuggets 10094
Emphasize Learning for Long-Term Employment http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/emphasize-learning-for-long-term-employment/ Fri, 09 Mar 2018 12:00:29 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10093

When it comes to attracting top-level talent, you need to consider salary, benefits, and perks. However, when it comes to keeping top-level talent around, you’ve got to carve out ways for them to keep their skills current, learn about their specific interests, and enable them to excel further than they could have when you first hired them on.

CBT Nuggets 10093
Manage Your Team Like You Manage Your Money http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/manage-your-team-like-you-manage-your-money/ Thu, 08 Mar 2018 12:00:31 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10092

Employee value is often measured in salary. Human value, however, is not an easy measurement to enumerate. People are more than their salaries, and provide more value to their team and company than usually meets the eye. Here’s how good managers measure their employees’ value.

CBT Nuggets 10092
How to Deal with the Added Costs of Success in IT http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/how-to-deal-with-the-added-costs-of-success-in-it/ Wed, 07 Mar 2018 12:00:29 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10091

Every manager wants their team (and company) to be successful. After all, no one sets out to fail, but every company stumbles along the way. Projects can go awry. Products fall flat. These are normal and educational. Interestingly, success can be just as detrimental — especially sudden, stratospheric growth.

CBT Nuggets 10091
Do Budgets Drive or Deter Innovation? http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/do-budgets-drive-or-deter-innovation/ Tue, 06 Mar 2018 12:00:51 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10090

When you’re creating a mission, an ideology, or a goal that’s groundbreaking for your org, you’re allowed, maybe even encouraged, to get excited. When you’re brought back to reality by a budget, you have guidelines and structure — but with that, you may have to adjust some of your expectations.

CBT Nuggets 10090
How to Win Your IT Budget Battle http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/how-to-win-your-it-budget-battle/ Mon, 05 Mar 2018 12:00:54 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10077

Developing a budget and sticking to it is one of the most challenging aspects of being a decision-maker. If your budget is too low, your service suffers, making it difficult for your team to be productive. Too high and it gets rejected by executives. These tactics will help make the process smoother and keep everyone on your team happy.

CBT Nuggets 10077
This Week: Making Sense of the Cloud’s Business Impact http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/this-week-making-sense-of-the-clouds-business-impact/ Sat, 03 Mar 2018 12:00:23 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10046

Cloud technology is rapidly changing the way organizations operate on a day-to-day basis. This week, we took a look at the challenges and opportunities that the cloud presents — and how you and your organization can reap the benefits of this game-changing technology.

CBT Nuggets 10046
Get the Most Out of Your Cloud Investment http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/get-the-most-out-of-your-cloud-investment/ Fri, 02 Mar 2018 12:00:41 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10045

Your work isn’t done once your organization moves to the cloud. For your company to reap the benefits, you need to be able to support the team members who will be working with the cloud and understand what kind of skills you’ll need to recruit for your team later.

CBT Nuggets 10045
5 Ways to Get Your IT Team to Embrace the Cloud http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/03/5-ways-to-get-your-it-team-to-embrace-the-cloud/ Thu, 01 Mar 2018 12:00:15 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10044

Even if it’s for a good reason, change can be hard. Moving to the cloud can present its challenges, so it’s crucial to get buy-in early on, especially from your IT team. Explore ways you can help your IT team get excited about the cloud.

CBT Nuggets 10044
Uncovering the True Cost of Cloud Adoption http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/02/uncovering-the-true-cost-of-cloud-adoption/ Wed, 28 Feb 2018 12:00:30 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10043

Cloud services are widely lauded for their “pay as you go” model and their scalability. But if you take a deeper look at the financial model of cloud computing services, you’ll find that adopting the cloud comes with risks not only for your organization but for cloud providers, too.

CBT Nuggets 10043
Learner Spotlight: Blake Woodlee http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/02/learner-spotlight-blake-woodlee/ Tue, 27 Feb 2018 21:04:28 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10101

Blake Woodlee currently sits atop the the leaderboard of our first NuggetGames competition, more than 3,000 points ahead of the runner up. We asked Blake about his approach to training and his advice on how to conquer with CBT Nuggets.

CBT Nuggets 10101
Why the Cloud Will Change Your Organization http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/02/why-the-cloud-will-change-your-organization/ Tue, 27 Feb 2018 12:00:46 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10042

The impact of the cloud extends beyond transforming your organization’s IT infrastructure. Cloud technology and services can change how your organization functions, how it pursues business opportunities, and even how it creates new services for your customer base.

CBT Nuggets 10042
Ways the Cloud Tackles Business Challenges Head On http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/02/ways-the-cloud-tackles-business-challenges-head-on/ Mon, 26 Feb 2018 12:00:18 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=10041

Cloud technologies help solve many common business problems. With that in mind, we examined some of the ways that the cloud can help your business increase efficiency, keep customers happy, and gain competitive advantage.

CBT Nuggets 10041
This Week: Implementing Microsoft Azure Infrastructure Solutions http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/2018/02/this-week-implementing-microsoft-azure-infrastructure-solutions/ Sat, 24 Feb 2018 12:00:48 +0000 http://i-am-glow.com/?page=blog/?p=9809

This week on the CBT Nuggets blog, we went in depth on the ways you can use Microsoft Azure to succeed. In celebration of trainer Ben Finkel’s latest course update, learn how Azure is embracing security, AI, and more to make itself a trusted cloud services provider.

CBT Nuggets 9809